Film Blogs Tags Tweeted Movies 2012 2012 movies Actionadventure Adaptation Scifi Comedy Drama Sequels Movie trailers Casting Thriller Comic booksuperhero Horror 3d Paramount pictures Wbpictures Warner bros 20th century fox Warner brothers Disneypixar Animation 2013 movies Trailer Movies 2013

2012 Film Independent Spirit Award Winners

Article from Movie News - MovieWeb

Film Independent presented the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards today in Santa Monica, California, which was hosted by Seth Rogen. The ceremony was streamed live through Yahoo! Movies and will air on IFC at 10 PM ET/PT. You can take a look at the full list of nominees and winners below.

Best Feature (Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not listed)

Best Director

Best Screenplay

Best First Feature (Award given to the director and producer)

Best First Screenplay

John Cassavetes Award - Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not listed

Best Female Lead

Best Male Lead

Best Supporting Female

Best Supporting Male

Best Cinematography

Best Documentary (Award given to the director and producer)

Best International Film (Award given to the director)

Piage Producers Award - The 15th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Someone To Watch Award - The 18th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Truer Than Fiction Award - The 17th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Robert Altman Award - (Given to one film's director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

The Independent Spirit Awards episode 27.1, "2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards"

The Artist was released November 25th, 2011 and stars Jean Dujardin, Brnice Bejo, John Goodman, James Cromwell, Penelope Ann Miller, Missi Pyle, Beth Grant, Ed Lauter. The film is directed by Michel Hazanavicius.

Tags: Spiritawards | Ifctv | Independentspiritawards | Indie | Theartist | The independent spirit awards 2012 film independent spirit awards | The artist | Independent spirit award | The spirit awards | Ifc spirit awards | Spirit awards 2012 | Indie spirit awards | Indie films | Indie movies | Indie movie | Awards | Movie awards | Awards ceremony | Movies 2011 | Movies 2012 | 2011 movies | 2012 movies